Symposium  Co-Chairs

  • Hamed Mohsenian-Rad, University of California at Riverside, USA
  • Yunwei (Ryan) Li, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Mahinda Vilathgamuwa, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Yunhe Hou, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR, China

Scope and Motivation

Building the future smart power grid requires the development of new control and operation architectures, algorithms, sensing, decision making and actuating mechanisms. Microgrids and distributed resources are particularly considered as key building blocks for the future smart grids. The emerging concepts and functionalities in microgrids and distribution systems have introduced new challenges not only to the power system community but also to the communications and networking research communities to develop new architectures, control mechanisms, and operation systems. Addressing these new challenges is the focus of this symposium. We invite researchers from Academia, Industry, and Government Agencies to identify and discuss technical challenges, exchange novel ideas, explore enabling technologies, and present recent research and demonstration results related to all networking, communications, control, and operation aspects in designing, implementing, and testing different architectures and functionalities in smart microgrids and distribution systems.

Topics of Particular Interest

The symposium aims to focus on theoretical, experimental and proof-of-concept results of research and innovation topics of interest that include, but are not limited to:
Microgrids and virtual power plants (VPPs)
- Modeling, simulation and configuration
- Data driven modeling of resources and estimation of potential
- Experiences of microgrids operating in grid-connected and islanded mode
- Mitigation of the variability of renewable supplies in the grid
- Provision of frequency regulation and ancillary services

Power electronics and devices for microgrids and distribution systems
- Operation, control and protection systems
- Power electronic converters with special functionalities
- Active power filtering, load-sharing, islanding operation
- DC microgrid networks and DC distribution systems
Protection and faults in microgrids and distribution systems
- Fault monitoring, location and isolation
- Predictive maintenance, adaptive communication-based protection
- Microgrids during emergency, islanding, and black start
Control and management of microgrids and distribution systems
- Supervision, management, security, and hierarchical control
- Communication-based resilient and robust control
- Power management strategies and the effect of business models
- Distributed control and/or decentralized decision making
- Transient and stability analysis of microgrid systems
Distributed generation, storage, and load resources in microgrids
- Large scale integration in low-voltage grids
- Effects on the management of low-voltage networks
- Demand response in microgrids
- Forecasting demand and generation in the context of microgrids
- Integration of microturbines, (small) wind turbines, photovoltaic, fuel cells, CCHP
- UPS systems and batteries: hydrogen and fuel cells, compressed air, flywheel
- Electric vehicles integration and operation

Technical Program Committee (TPC) Members

Hossein Akhavan-Hejazi, University of California, Riverside, USA
Mahnoosh Alizadeh, Stanford University, USA
Farrokh Aminifar, University of Tehran, Iran
Chadi Assi, Concordia University, Canada
Islam Safak Bayram, Hamad Bin Khalifa University and Qatar Environment and Energy Research Institute, Qatar
Mario Berges, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Subhonmesh Bose, California Institute of Technology, USA
Ana Busic, INRIA / ENS, France
Mohammad, Chehreghani Bozchalui    SunEdison, USA
Chen Chen, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Lijun Chen, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA
Emiliano Dall'Anese, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA
Ali Davoudi, The University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Yong Ding, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Melike Erol-Kantarci, Clarkson University, USA
Zubair Fadlullah, Tohoku University, Japan
Nikolaos Gatsis, The University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Li Guo, Tianjin University, P.R. China
He Hao, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
Miao He, Texas Tech University, USA
Carl Ho, University of Manitoba, Canada
Jiabing Hu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, P.R. China
Jianwei Huang, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Longbo Huang, Tsinghua University, P.R. China
George Karagiannidis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Amin Khodaei, University of Denver, USA
Mohammad Khodayar, SMU, USA
Mahdi Kohansal, University of California at Riverside, USA
Peng-Yong Kong, Khalifa University of Science, Technology & Research, UAE
Jang-Won Lee, Yonsei University, Korea
Woongsup Lee, Gyeongsang National University, Germany
Shunbo Lei, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Husheng Li, University of Tennessee, USA
Hao Liang, University of Alberta, Canada
Xiaojun Lin, Purdue University, USA
Feng Liu, Tsinghua University, P.R. China
Tao Liu, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Zhenhua Liu, California Institute of Technology, USA
André Madureira, INESC TEC, Portugal
Ali Mehrizi-Sani, Washington State University, USA
Javad Mohammadpour, University of Georgia, USA
Kwan-Tat Mok, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Masood Parvania, University of Utah, USA
Chaoyi Peng, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Shaolei Ren, University of California, Riverside, USA
Walid Saad, Virginia Tech, USA
Kai Sun, TsingHua University, P.R. China
Wei Sun, South Dakota State University, USA
Chee Wei Tan, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Joshua Taylor, University of Toronto, Canada
Chee-Wooi Ten, Michigan Technological University, USA
John Thompson, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Jason Wang, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Ming Hao Wang, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Xiongfei Wang, Aalborg University, Denmark
Vincent    Wong, University of British Columbia, Canada
Chenye    Wu,    Carnegie Mellon University,    USA
Yunjian    Xu,    Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
Zhao Xu, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Jie Yan, Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc. (MISO), USA
Hatem Zeineldin, Masdar Institute of Science & Technology, UAE
Baosen Zhang, University of Washington, USA
Yue Zhao, Stony Brook University, USA
Saman Zonouz, Rutgers University, USA