Student Competition

Student Video Competition - Prize $500

A special feature of IEEE SmartGridComm 2015 is a Student Video Competition. Prospective research students are invited to submit entries for the SGC2015 Video Competition on any aspect of IEEE SmartGridComm as outlined at A $500.00 USD award will be presented to the winner(s) of the winning video


The winner will be announced during the conference banquet on Wednesday  November 5, 2015

Video #1
     Author(s) name: Guoming Tang, Jie Chen, Cheng Chen, and Kui Wu
     University affiliation: Dept. of Computer Science, University of Victoria.
     Video Title: a Consumer-Oriented Web Service for Energy Disaggregation (with Audio)
     Video URL:
Video #2
     Author(s) name: Sriharsha Etigowni, Saman Zonouz
     University affiliation: Rutgers University
     Video Title: Potential Malware for PLC
     Video URL:
Video #3
     Author(s) name: Leila Sharifi, Zainab Abbas
     University affiliation: Polytechnic University of Catalonia
     Video Title: Cloud of Energy
     Video URL:

The deadline for SGC2015 Student Video submissions is 9 October 2015 at 11:59 PM PT. Please email submission summary as a pdf file with the YouTube video link to Yu-Ju Lin ( and/or Paul Aiken (

Instructions (how to vote)

Youtube links of all videos will be provided on this page after the submission deadline. If you like a video, you can vote for it by clicking LIKE on the Youtube page. The videos that receives the most 'likes' are those that will be considered as finalists.

Important. Only the top 3 videos will be selected. Thus, LIKE only the video that you like the most. Even if you like more than one video, and you have the right to vote for all of them, we strongly recommend you to vote only for the video you like most!


Selection Process

  1. Approval of video. Videos will be screened by a jury for compliance with the scope of the competition as outlined above.
  2. Approved videos. The approved videos will be posted on the IEEE SmartGridComm website, where visitors will be able to vote.
  3. Top 3 videos. The top 3 voted videos will be selected.
  4. Winning video. The winning video will be decided by the jury, out of the 3 top voted videos. It will be announced on the IEEE website on the date specified and will receive the $500 prize!
Note that only students are eligible to participate.

Important Dates

  • Video submission deadline: 9 October,  2015, 11:59 pm
  • Online voting period: 9 October - 24 October 2015
  • Announcement of top 3 videos: 30 October 2015
  • Announcement of Top Winner: 4 November 2015

>> Download the (pdf) Call for Student Video Submissions

Video Competition Committee

Co-Chair: Yu Ju Lin, University of  Charleston, USA
Co_chair: Paul Aiken, University of the West Indies, Mona, JAMAICA
Richard Newman, University of Florida, USA
Hicham Bouzekri, MASciR, MOROCO
Janise McNair, University of Florida, USA

Link to Previous Video Competitions

You can see the Video Contests Nominations of previous years at the following links: